In 1968, Rich Widmark and Dick Wellbank formed the Park Ridge
Speedskating Club. This fledgling club gave rise to Olympians Nancy
Swider-Peltz, Sr., David Santee, Bart Conner, Mark Greenwald, and Nancy Swider-Peltz, Jr.

Through the years, devoted club presidents and Olympian coaches Chuck Burke and Nancy Sr, with dedicated assistants, produced other World Team Skaters and National Champions.

Even more importantly, the club introduced hundreds more to the thrill of speedskating. We celebrate 50 years of skating excellence with the Park Ridge Speedskating Club as we look to inspire the next generation.

Copyright © Park Ridge Speedskating Club





PR Speedskating Facebook

Our Legacy
Nancy Swider-Peltz Sr. (1976, 1980, 1984, 1988)
David Santee (1976 – figure skating)
Bart Connor (1984 – gymnastics)
Mark Greenwald (1988)
Nancy Swider-Peltz Jr. (2010)

Team USA Skaters
Bruce Conner (1973-1976)
Kirby Pascus (1976-1980)
Frank Filardi (1984-1987)
Tom Carter (1984)
Michelle Fang (1984)
Tamara Frederick (2012-2013)

Head Coaches
Rich Widmark (1968-1972)
Richard Wellbank (1968-1972)
Chuck Burke (1972-1984)
Bob Knight (1972-1974) (co-head with Burke 1972-74)
Michelle Fang Martorano (1984 interim)
Nancy Swider-Peltz (1985-present)


Ron Muck Sr. (1968-1971)
Harold Conner (1971-1972)
Neal Santee (1972-1973)
Raymond Henneman (1973-1974)
Dennis Swanson (1974-1976)
Gene Carter (1976-?)
Robert E. Miller (1980-?)
Dick Stuercke (1982-1985)
Mike Garafola (1985-1989)
Rebecca Sadlier (1989-1994)
Alex Kantzavelas (1994-1997)
Peter Block (1997-2009)
Bill Scholz (2009-2016)
Mike Olijnyk (2016-present)